Touched By An Alien Review

Touched by an Alien (Katherine

TITLE: Touched By An Alien (Katherine “Kitty” Katt series #1)

AUTHOR: Gini Koch

GENRE: Science Fiction/Romance

PAGES: 352

FORMAT: E-book

PRICE: $7.99 paperback; $2.99 e-book

I will be the first to admit that this book took me out of my wheelhouse. I usually read Science fiction, fantasy, history, mystery, thriller, and westerns. The word romance does not enter my genre list. If it happens in the course of the book, that is one thing, but to go out and look for it is another.

This year, I decided to go out of my wheelhouse every now and then. My first choice to do this is Gini Koch’s Touched By An Alien. Well, I sort of went out of my wheelhouse. It is a science fiction story, but heavily laced with that “r” word…romance.

Katherine “Kitty” Katt is having an interesting day. After serving jury duty, she stops what she thinks is a man going all big and bad on a woman during a traffic situation. All it too was a pen her dad gave her, stabbing the jellyfish on the guys back, and then she is surrounded by gorgeous men in Armani suits who want to recruit her into their government organization. The catch? The organization she will be working for are led by gorgeous men from Alpha Centauri, one of whom has the major hots for Katherine and lets her know every chance he gets!

This book hits all the marks for a science fiction/alien invasion novel. There are even references to movies and shows in out pop culture that deal with this kind of thing. I would also go as far as to say in that respect it gets points for originality and not a “rip off” of those shows and movies. The pace is fast and even, even when things are explained as to how such and such can happen. The dialog is on point, and the banter is fun to watch.

The only thing that put me off in this was the alien that has the hots for the heroine, becomes a bit obnoxious with it. I wanted to jump in and hit him with a firehose. Otherwise this was a good novel and could even be read in a weekend.

4.5 bookmarks out of 5

Leave a comment