5 Questions With Lydia A. Stevens

See the source image

It has been said that to be a good writer, you have to be a good reader. With that in mind, please answer the following questions.

-What book got you interested in reading?

The books that enticed me into reading were some classics, The Little House Books by Laura Ingalls Wilder, The American Girl Series and Nancy Drew.

-Do you have a favorite genre to read?

I love urban fantasy but will foray into paranormal romance just to get my magic on! Although a good romance isn’t something to be overlooked, many of my peers are romance writers and the Maine Romance Writers Association was the first writing group I became a member of, I typically read for the fantasy/paranormal elements as opposed to the romance.

-Is there a book you have read more than one time?

Dozens. Too many to count. I can name authors! Karen Marie Moning, J. R. Ward, Kevin Hearne, Darynda Jones, Ilona Andrews, J. K. Rowling, Jeaniene Frost, and Patricia Briggs are all my must haves and ones I read over and over.

-What got you interested in writing?

I’ve always been a writer. I would write little stories when I was younger and there is a box of notebooks somewhere. I once even wrote a letter to my parents when I was mad about how I would run away. Only I detailed everything to them. Where I was going, what I was taking, who I was taking with me-namely, the dog. But there hasn’t been a time I can remember that my imagination hasn’t been crafting a story! I will say Karen Marie Moning was the catalyst to pursuing my writing career in a professional capacity. Her work got me through a very difficult time, and I will always cherish her works and words.

-Was there a book of yours that was difficult to write? Which one was it and what made it so difficult?

Why Not, book 3 of the Ginger Davenport Escapades was my third book, and the hardest to write. I self-published that trilogy, and I think I was so afraid of making the jump to traditional publishing, I stalled writing it. It took me over a year to finally sit down and finish it, then publish it. As far as emotionally and mentally, Highway to Hell has a lot more research and inner inflection that went into it-and can be considered harder spiritually than any other book I’ve written. I am also a full-time freelance writer and write across all genres and I’ve written over seventy-five novels for clients, so writing is what I do every day. My own works definitely have more of my soul in them though.

Leave a comment